Chinese bakeries

hello! so, today I decided to talk about Chinese bakeries. Chinese bakeries are the BEST, I’m not just saying this because I’m Chinese, they really are. so today I am going to give you a guide on what to pick at a Chinese bakery. these are just my personal faves, try whatever you want!

  • there is something you should know about the bread first. they basically use the same bread for almost all the breads. it is soft, fluffy and slightly sweet

pineapple bun-

pineapple bun

there is no actual pineapple in these buns. they get their name from their crackly tops, that supposedly look like pineapple. the topping is almost like a cookie. my grandmother makes them too. it is by far my favorite bakery item.

coconut cocktail bun-

coconut cocktail bun

coconut cocktail buns are bread filled with a coconut paste inside. these are very sweet.  though it sounds like it, there’s no alcohol in these buns, I’ve been eating them since I was little.

pork buns

pork buns

this is a great savory option. it is the same base as the other bread with barbecued pork inside, sometimes the filling is red which is strange.

red bean bun

red bean bao

this is a bread filled with red bean paste. I think it is good, the bean paste is sweet but not overpowering. bean paste is an acquired taste for westerners, so if you don’t like new thing this is not for you

sachima

sachima

sachima are sort of like a rice crispy treat, but a bit softer.  they are common in grocery stores, but will be found in bakeries too.

sesame balls

sesame balls

sesame balls are fried mocha filled with bean paste, covered in sesame seeds. they taste like they are made of magic.

egg tarts

egg tarts

okay, I started with a favorite and I’ll end with a favorite. this is an egg tart. it consists of a flaky crust with a eggy sweet custard. SOOO DELICIOUS, MUST TRY.

 

 

Leave a comment